National Political News Telugu

Goa chief minister Pramod Sawant wins trust vote in assembly

BJP led Goa government under new chief minister Pramod Sawant won the floor test in the legislative assembly on Wednesday by 20 to 15 votes. In the vote of confidence, the BJP-led coalition government garnered the support of 20 MLAs which include 11 from BJP, three MLAs each from MGP and GFP and three independents. 15 MLAs including 14 from congress and one from NCP voted against the motion.

The support of at least 19 MLAs was required to pass the floor test in the 40-member assembly, the strength of which has been currently reduced to 36, following resignations of two MLAs and demise of two including former chief minister Manohar Parrikar.

Congress continues to be the main opposition in the assembly as well as the single largest party with 14 MLAs, while BJP has 12 legislators including the speaker. Pramod Sawant was sworn in as the new chief minister of Goa along with 11 ministers on Tuesday following the demise of Manohar Parrikar.

Related posts

We Will Start ‘Abhimanyudu – 2’ Soon -Hero Vishal


Jagannath Temple Keys Found, It’s A Miracle Says Puri Collector

Ashok prasad

Telugu film ‘C/o Kancharapalem’ selected for New York film fest


Leave a Comment