ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 commences with England-South Africa clash

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will begin today. England will open the tournament at The Oval in London when they will take on South Africa. Australia will launch their title defence on June 1 against the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier champions Afghanistan in a day/night match in Bristol.

India, the 1983 and 2011 world champions, will play their first match on June 5 against South Africa at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton. Their feature match against arch-rivals Pakistan will be on June 16 at Old Trafford in Manchester.

The World Cup will span 48 matches in all, of which 45 will make up the group stage. Each team will play nine group stage matches, and the top four will progress to the semifinals, similar to how the 1992 World Cup was held.

Related posts

16-year-old Sachin made his debut 29 years ago on November 15


India, Virat Kohli retain top positions in ICC test rankings


Hockey World Cup Tournament to commence in Bhubaneswar tomorrow


Leave a Comment

Real emotions of real people from Bali