National news Sports Telugu

India beat Bangladesh by three wickets to win Asia Cup

Team India has lifted the Asia Cup for a record-extending seventh time. India retained the Asia Cup with a three-wicket win off the last ball against a fighting Bangladesh who were anchored by a maiden hundred from opener Liton Das in Dubai on Friday. India made heavy weather of a modest 223-run target as Bangladesh fought for every run before the title holders achieved victory off the last ball watched by a capacity 25,000-holiday crowd at Dubai stadium. Put in to bat, Bangladesh got off to a flying start, but they lost way after the wicket of Mehidy Hasan. They slid from 120 for no loss to 222 all out in 48.3 overs.

Opener Liton Das scored 121, his maiden ODI ton. Kuldeep Yadav bagged 3 wickets. In reply, India overhauled the target on the last ball after they needed 6 runs from the final over. Skipper Rohit Sharma top scored with 48, but it was the 54-run fourth-wicket stand between Dinesh Karthik and MS Dhoni and a 45-run seventh-wicket stand between Ravindra Jadeja and Bhuvneshwar Kumar that got India through. Liton Das was named the man of the match. India won the Asia Cup – under a Twenty20 format – in Bangladesh in 2016.

Related posts

India vs South Africa, 1st Test, Day 4: SA 11/1 at stumps in chase of 395


‘Avengers: Endgame’ trailer marks the beginning of the endgame


Cold wave conditions would prevail for the next two days in Telangana


Leave a Comment

Real emotions of real people from Bali