Political News Telangana Telugu

Polling underway to elect 5 members for Legislative Council in Telangana

The polling is underway to elect 5 members for the Legislative Council from MLAs quota. Opposition Congress and TDP boycotted the polling alleging that Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao and the ruling TRS are committing unconstitutional acts and encouraging defections. Speaker P Srinivas Reddy exercised his franchise when the voting began this morning.

TRS Working President K Taraka Ramarao cast his vote while TRS members and ministers exercising their franchise. The polling will continue till 4 PM and counting of votes will be followed immediately after that. The TRS fielded four candidates against 5 vacancies while Home minister Mahamood Ali seeking re-election for the Council.

The other three candidates from the ruling TRS included S Subhash ReddySatyavathi Rathod and Mallesham. However the TRS extended support to the MIM candidate Mirza Riyaj Ul Hassan.

The TRS and MIM extended full support to each other’s candidates in the 119 member Assembly. The Congress fielded G Narayana Reddy. Each candidate requires the support of 21 members to get elected for the council, based on the numbers.

Related posts

First phase of voting begins in Chhattisgarh amid tight security


India has become fastest growing large economy: Venkaiah Naidu in Paraguay


CM KCR gives his permission to hold film , TV shootings


Leave a Comment

Real emotions of real people from Bali