Telangana Formation Day

Telangana was established on 2 June 2014 as the 29th state of India. In the leadership of Chandrashekhar Rao on 29 November 2009, TRS started an indefinite hunger strike demanding the formation of Telangana. Due to mounting pressure on the central government, a five-member committee was formed on February 3, 2010, under the leadership of former judge Shri Krishna. The committee submitted its report to the centre on December 30, 2010. After all, due to the heavy opposition and electoral pressure in Telangana, on October 3, 2013, the UPA government approved the formation of a separate Telangana state. On June 2, 2014, Telangana became the 29th state of the country and Chandrashekhar Rao took oath as the first Chief Minister.

Special things:

  1. In the area which is called Telangana, there are 10 districts out of 23 districts of Andhra Pradesh. Originally it was part of Nizam’s Hyderabad state.
  2. Telangana is derived from the name Telugu Angana, which means the place where Telugu is spoken. Nizam (1724-1948) used the word Telangana to separate from the Marathi-speaking areas in his state.
  3. Telangana is the 12th largest state in the country with 114840 square kilometres. The population here is 35286757.
  4. Here the official language is Urdu and Telugu.
  5. The Nagarjuna Sagar Dam, built on the Krishna river flowing here, is the largest dam in the world made of stone.
  6. The brand ambassador tennis player of this state is Sania Mirza.
  7. K Chandrasekhar Rao, President of Telangana Rashtra Samiti, who has been struggling for years to form the Telangana state, became the first Chief Minister of this new state.

Related posts

Former TRS MLA Babu Mohan joins BJP


KCR lashes out at Rahul Gandhi at Prajala Aashirvada Sabha in Yellendu

raghavendra d

Telangana cabinet expansion on Feb 19

raghavendra d

Leave a Comment